Weeds

IMG_2572

I bought bird seed and a feeder for the back yard.  (If you know me, you know that I have a passion for animals.  I wanted to have birds in the back yard, I love watching them).  I bought the cheapest bird seed that I could find, because why do they need the best?  About a week or so after watching the birds and scattering the seed for them weeds began to grow, they were surrounding the tree.  As I was looking at and pulling some of them the other night I knew God has a message for me there, I felt it.  After a few days of “pondering” here’s where I was led.

The tree represents me.  It needs nourishment, sunshine, and a healthy environment to thrive.  So do I!  My nourishment comes from the Lord and his Word.

The weeds represent sin.  They grow quickly, do not need nourishment, and spread to other areas.  

Like I said, I chose the cheapest seeds I could find.  How many times do I choose the cheapest “seed” in my own life?  I choose the things of the world instead of God’s best for me.  Why would I settle and be happy with anything but His best?

Pulling the weeds reminded me that I need to “pull” the sin out of my life, turn it over to God, and discard it or it will choke out all that is good…  it will choke out God.  God will never move from me but when sin is surrounding me it’s really hard to see His good and I lose focus on Him.  

I want my focus to be solely on God.  I want to depend on him for my nourishment.  I know there will be rough days but my God is never far from me.  

Psalm 16:8  “I keep my eyes always on the Lord.  With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.” 

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

